Asia Pacific Association of Hydrology and Water Resources (APHW)

Message from the Secretary General (SG)

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am pleased to inform you that the
Asia Pacific Association of Hydrology and Water Resources (APHW), "Association" hereinafter, is established today, 1 September 2002. The Terms of Reference of the Association, which was elaborated through discussions among the Preparatory Committee members of last ten months, is as per attached. The Preparatory Committee existed between December 2001 and August 2002 and was composed of those listed in the Annex.

Further details of the Association may be obtained from the web site of the Association, which will be established shortly. Any inquiry about the Association should be sent to:

The first major event of the Association is the first International Conference (APHW2003) to be held on 13-15 March 2003 in
Kyoto, Japan. The details of the APHW2003 may be found in the following web site:

I feel it a great honor to inform you that the President of the Japan Association of Hydrology and Water Resources, which hosts the Secretariat for initial five years, has appointed me Secretary General of the Association. I shall do my best, along with many collaborators, to make the Association really useful for you.

Last but not least, please let me express my sincere thanks for those who have helped us in establishing the Association. For all the recipients of this message, I look forward to your active participation in the activities of the Association.

Sincerely yours,

Katumi Musiake
Secretary General
Asia Pacific Association of Hydrology and Water Resources

1 September 2002


Preparatory Committee for Asia Pacific Association of Hydrology and Water Resources

Akihiko Kondoh
Andrew Fenemor
Ashim Das Gupta
Gombo Davaa
Graeme Dandy
Gwo-Fong Lin
Hideo Fujii
Hiew Kim Loi
Hj. Mohd Nor Hj. Mohd Desa
John Michael
Kaoru Takara
Katumi Musiake
Kazumasa Ito
Kazumi Yamaoka
Kenji Jinno
KURAJI Koichiro
Leonardo Q Liongson
Liong, Shie-Yui
Masaaki Nakayasu
Masato Toyama
Mikiyasu Nakayama
Noriaki Hirose
Pech Sokhem
Satoru Kondo
Siripong Hungspreug
Sitha Phouyavong
Taikan Oki
TAKEUCHI Kuniyoshi
Toshiharu Kojiri
Toshikatsu Omachi
Tran Thuc
Tsugihiro Watanabe
Van-Thanh-Van Nguyen
Yasumiti Oka
Yong-Nam Yoon
Yongqin David Chen

Return to home page